ABOUT

 

Can you tell us more about yourself?

I am currently  the Communications and Social Media Coordinator at the International Organization for Migration (IOM) in Washington, D.C. Working days are quite intense since migration has become one of the most discussed and debated topics of our time.

So you are no longer a journalist?

I still consider myself a journalist. I believe when you choose that profession out of a passion, you will always remain a journalist. I still use my journalistic skills in my current job by creating content in various forms - text, video, photo - to raise awareness about migration-related issues as well as human trafficking.   

What passionate you the most?

A few years ago, I used to be interested in politics but then I became very disappointed. However, I remain very concerned about the state of our world, especially with the current events in North Africa and the Middle East. Anything related to gender issues and social justice will also get my attention. Lately, I've spent a lot of time reading about new technologies and how they are impacting our lives.  Finally, I am fan of photography, mostly photojournalism and documentary style. I believe photographs can tell better stories that we could with words. 

What are you afraid of?

I am sometimes afraid of the distance and could happen to my loved ones. Being far from my family and not knowing what could happen can be hard. If anything happens, I would literally take me nearly a day to get home. I am also afraid to disappoint those who put their trust in me which is why I always commit 100% to anything I do. 

What else should we know about you?

I am a dreamer. I read that it is one of the characteristics of the Cancer sign. Having dreams is what makes my ambitions. I will work hard to get where I want to be in life.

I am a French-Tunisian citizen, born in Toulon, south of France (please, do not confuse with Toulouse.) I called myself a third culture kid who favor Japanese cuisine over Tunisian and French. I am not even sure to know what French cuisine. 

I am very disciplined.  I usually wake up at 4:30am to go workout before work. It might sound difficult but it is important for me to keep a healthy lifestyle.